Let them eat cake!!

Who doesn’t like cake??

We all love a bit of cake don’t we? I’m no exception to this. I have to say though I’m not really a fan of fancy cakes, for me simpler is better. I don’t like cream too much and I’m sorry but I don’t understand the fuss about cupcakes….not for me!  Don’t get me wrong, they look pretty and there is a skill to getting them right but you won’t see me buying them!!

On a trip a few years ago to Limerick – by chance in a gift shop I came across this little book called Breads & Baking – The Irish Kitchen by Ruth Isabel Ross.  It is a little book with no fancy photography but great recipes.

 Irish Baking Book

Included is a recipe for a fantastic Lemon Cake. I can’t tell you how many times I have made this cake (have a look at the stains on the page!!) but it works every single time! All my friends, family and work colleagues love this. Ex work colleagues still make comments to me about it and when I make it to bring into work I have to bring in at least three – no joke, and even at that there sometimes isn’t enough for everyone! I’ve also experimented with the recipe and used the batter for individual cupcakes (but not of the aforementioned variety – these were basically buns) and it worked really well.

Why not give it a go – this is perfect with an afternoon cup of tea!

Lemon Cake

Lemon Cake

The batter

125g/4oz/1 stick butter

175g/6 oz/ quarter cup caster (superfine) Sugar

Grated rind of one lemon

2 Eggs Beaten

175g/6oz/1.5 cups self raising white flour

A little milk

The Drizzle

Juice of the grated lemon

50g/2oz/quarter cup granulated sugar

Cream the butter (if I’m in a rush I cheat and put the butter in microwave for 30 seconds), caster (superfine) sugar and lemon rind. Add the beaten eggs and the flour. Add a little milk and mix till you have a batter of a dropping consistency.  Spread in a greased and lined loaf tin. Bake for 45-50 minutes (possibly less in fan oven) at 190-200C/375-400 F/Gas 5-6.

Warm the mixture of the lemon juice and granulated sugar. As soon as the cake comes out of the oven, prick the surface immediately with a skewer all over and pour on the lemon sugar mixture.

Leave in the tin to cool. This will keep (but I’ve never had a chance to see if this is true as its gone in minutes) for several days!

Time to stick on the kettle and enjoy!!

For more follow me – https://www.facebook.com/LizsRealTastesOfIreland

6 thoughts on “Let them eat cake!!

  1. hris Harrison

    We were lucky enough to try Liz’s Lemon Cake when on a visit to Ireland and it was absolutely delicious Chris and Richard Harrison

  2. Joanna

    I had a pleasure to try this cake on Tuesday during a break of our Italian class! Unfortunately I had only one slice ;-( I nearly had a second one but as I did not want to be rude and selfish … and apparently sharing is caring…. “my second last slice” was consumed by our teacher 🙂 What can I say…abolutely delicious! Can we have more next Tuesday Liz? Please! 🙂
    Joanna

  3. JP Movieblogger

    A lovely blog beautifully written with interesting topics. Love that Lemon cake recipe. Keep up the excellent work. You may want to move your pictures to right or left and have the text wrap around it for a better presentation.

    • Liz Aungier

      Hi and thanks for your comments! Hope you will try the recipe for the cake – it is so simple but delicious 🙂
      Still learning WordPress so thanks for the comments about the picture – I appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

